The Shadow of Malabron

The Shadow of Malabron

Paperback - 2010
Average Rating:
Rate this:
5
3
Malabron the Night King seeks to turn all stories into one - his story, a nightmare of absolute power. When Will Lightfoot, a rebellious teenager, stumbles into the Perilous Realm where all stories come from, he is unwillingly caught up in the struggle against this ancient evil.

Aided by some of the Storyfolk - including the feisty Rowen, her grandfather, Pendrake the loremaster, Finn Madoc, a knight-in-training, and Shade, the wise and loyal wolf - Will must set out on a dangerous journey and face a host of perils if he is ever to find the gateless gate that will take him home.

This is high fantasy on a grand scale, which imaginatively intertwines well-known stories with Will's quest to weave an unforgettable adventure.
Publisher: [Toronto] : Doubleday Canada, 2010, c2008.
Edition: Trade pbk. edition
ISBN: 9780385664608
Characteristics: 385 pages ;,21 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
s
sadmarvin
Apr 27, 2015

A fun, inventive start to a wonderful trilogy. Fans of Tolkien and Harry Potter will absolutely devour this book. Wharton effortlessly mixes his own mythologies with stories from around the world, creating an exciting mixture of the familiar and the novel.

JewelMcLatchy Nov 20, 2012

This is the incredible first book in a trilogy that reminds me of such epic tales as Lloyd Alexander's Prydain Chronicles, C.S. Lewis's the Chronicles of Narnia, The Dark is Rising sequence by Susan Cooper and other great sagas. Starts in a modern setting, but Will is transported to another world where all the stories we've been told exist as reality. Although classified as Young Adult, I'd say this is really for any reader age 9 and up.

c
caitlyncharles
Oct 21, 2012

sweet book! I own this one, and am just looking for the sequel. Anyone know what the sequel is?

p
pookiebear
May 22, 2012

This is such a good book! Will is a very typical teenager going through typical teen problems not to metion that he just lost his mom and then to top it of he gets lost in another world! I love it how the author combines many storys into one so that you pick up bits and pieces of other storys while the plot is still completely original

c
Charlie68
Oct 19, 2009

Perhaps meant more for younger readers, but still I thought the characters could use more depth. Good writing throughout, depictions of scenery and action were well done, not as good as previous books by this author.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability
i
imagineit
Sep 13, 2012

imagineit thinks this title is suitable for All Ages

p
pookiebear
May 22, 2012

pookiebear thinks this title is suitable for All Ages

c
Charlie68
Oct 19, 2009

Charlie68 thinks this title is suitable for All Ages

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at my library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top